Speak It Out

Work is my commitment. Learning is my passion. Faith is my strength. Love is my life.

My Photo
Location: Manila, Philippines

The name Ardythe:good war (Anglo-saxon); flowering field (Hebrew); spiritual prosperity (Swedish); Norwegian goddess.

Friday, March 20, 2009

Annamarie Velasco

I got a text message from Annamarie Velasco.
Pued po b akong humingi ng 2long sa inyo? Iā€™m Annamarie, 21yo fresh grad po from bacolod. Gagawin ko po ang lahat ng kapalit na gusto nio, ma2lungan nio lng po akong makapunta sa mynila. Im willing to take the risks. My job hiring na po kc ako jan sa smc-ortigas, sayang naman po kung madidissolve lng.. My picture po ako sa www.mvelasco. cjb.net ā€“ Marie

I checked the website. Seems true, but anyone can make a website nowadays. Especially Information Management daw sya. So I discussed it with my classmate and we made the following reply:

1. Mag-ingat ka sa tinetext mo.
2. Mag-ingat ka sa taong tinetext mo.
3. Mura lang ang pamasahe. (sabi ni classmate, may 230 pesos ngang plane fare eh)
4. Kung may job offer ka, you should have negotiated the compensation.
5. Paano ka maiinterview at makakapagexam kung di ka pa nila nakikita?
6. Kung gusto ka nila talaga i-hire, hindi nila ididissolve yung position.
7. Paano mo nalaman number ko?
8. Paano ka naging fresh grad eh di pa graduation? (although my sister said na graduation na raw).

Then I was thinking she's from La Salle, a DOST scholar. That scholarship is not enough.

A few days later, she texted:
Name: Marie Velasco
Age: 21
Birthdate: Feb 21, 1987
Height: 5'7"
Complexion: Fair
Vital Stats: 35-25-36
Hair: Long and straight
Other: joined some provincial pageants for allowance
Course: BS Information Management (Computer and Accountancy)
School: DOST Scholar in University of St. La Salle ā€“ Bacolod
Parents: Anna and Mario Velasco (both deceased)
Picture: www.mvelasco. cjb.net

After that, a few days passed then she texted again the same mesage, the first one.

Nabother ako...So I asked what position and office and company addresss and she replied
My deadline na po sana kasi ako dis coming march 23 po. 9am sa SMITS department po sa ortigas. Junior IT Specialist po ung position na inaaplayan ko...Sayang po tlga kc dhl related sa course ko...

I replied that I will be confirming first then we'll get her personal details that would be needed to book a flight via credit card. She did not reply. I was in class so I asked Nelson to do the searching and calling for me. At lunch break when Nelson had not yet succeeded, I used the internet and phone in the department to contact SMITS. The HR said that I was the 2nd caller (Nelson was the 4th). They do not have any applicant for interview nor for hiring with the name.

With that, it's a scam.

I browsed the net. She uses different websites. The first one above, and the 2nd is www.annamarie. cjb.net and there's www.annevelasco. cjb.net. There are also different stories, and what she is willing to give for her to go here. She is willing to have sex (she claims to be a virgin at that). She said she randomly texted numbers with 09178 - I was thinking, these numbers are all Globe plans. It has been said this has been going on since 2007. She uses different phone numbers. She only accepts cash (not e-tickets), because "there is terminal fee to pay" (like, hey it is only 30 Pesos). Other comments would say she got low grades. This is La Salle, highest grade is 4.0, lowest is 1.0. I also computed her age.Twenty-one and she was born 1987. She should be 22. And a lot more. So be careful. Always.